Castletroy College

Student Council

Student Council

Castletroy College Student Council Constitution.

Photo: Student Council Members

Left to right ( Back) Paulina Kwiaikowska, Eadaoin Gannon, Charlie O'Leary ( Chairperson of the Senior Student Council),Orlaith Danaher, Arwen Platt,James Carey.
Left to right ( Front) Clara Gleeson,Grace Gavin, Harry Hayden, Leon McCabe.
Missing from photo: Johannes Leahy ( Chairperson of the Junior Council), James Naughton, Nnedi Akwajah, Rebekah Sayson, Mya-Rose O'Shea,


  • To be the voice of the student body and to listen to issues and problems concerning them.
  • To report on issues and council events at weekly meetings.
  • To participate in the drafting and development of school policies.
  • To liaise with the student council facilitator, the principal and deputy principals and other members of staff.
  • To create a pleasant environment for students that enhances the wellbeing of the student body.
  • To work with the local and national community (e.g. raising awareness of human rights and animal rights).
  • To represent the school and students at youth events such as Limerick Youth Parliament and Comhairle na nÓ
  • To undertake charity and fundraising work (e.g. organising colours days)
  • To maintain the high standard of quality in the school building and school facilities for students.

Achievements to date:

  • Funds raised for charities and school facilities on an annual basis since 2002.
  • Collaboration in the designing of school policies such as the code of behaviour, school trips, guidance counselling and healthy eating.
  • Active and successful participation in campaigns for the community park and in the establishment of a school canteen and courtyards.
  • Participation in and organisation of Comhairle na nÓg events with local schools and Limerick Youth Service.
  • Involvement in Mental Health Week.
  • Collection of petitions on animal rights.
  • Participation in consultation on school uniform and P.E uniform.
  • Regular meetings with school management on school and student issues, problems and concerns.
  • Survey of school canteen food and meetings with the School Food Company on the canteen menus.

Student Council Members:

Year 6

Lakeisha Lazo, Siobhan O’Reilly, Danielle McMahon.

Year 5

Ciara Flaherty, Imelda Butler, Kikelomo Hassan, Andrew McMahon, Amelia Malicdem.

Year 4

Rory Clothier, Ben Hogan, David Foley, Claire Conway, Amy Brennan.

Year 3

Zoha Panezai, Ciara Mulkern.

Year 2

Jack Fitzgerald, John Donohoe, Nicole Barry.

Castletroy College,
Co. Limerick,
V94 6D85

061 330 785

© 2024 Castletroy College